Fear Street Trilogy Trailer Turns RL Stine’s Horror Novels Into R-Rated Slashers


Netflix takes a new approach for its next Fear street film trilogy, based on the book series of the same name by RL Stine. The streamer not only releases every movie in the series week after week, but also takes what was a young adult horror series and turns it into a very adult film series. All three films are rated R, and judging by the Fear street trailer that just dropped during Netflix’s Geeked Week, it’s a tough R.

The three films all seem to jump through the horror genres a bit. The first to fall will be Street of Fear Part 1: 1994 and it looks like it’s akin to the teen slashers who gave the genre a rebirth during this decade, like Scream. The second is Street of Fear Part 2: 1978 and takes place in everyone’s favorite classic slasher venue, a summer camp, while channeling the tastes of Friday 13. The third and final installment is Street of Fear Part 3: 1666 and goes back to the root of any evil that goes on and seems to lean more into historical / cult horror than the slasher. It’s an interesting approach for sure, especially since they all come out every week, more like a TV show than a movie series. It’s as cool as the Fear street the trilogy is going back in time.

Leigh Janiak, director of Fear street trilogy, provided the following statement alongside the release of the trailer:

As a filmmaker doing Fear street, but also as a movie lover I was so excited to pay homage to some of the great eras of horror movies. For 1994, Scream was above everything else – it’s’ 90s horror and, I think, one of the most brilliant movies ever made, period. Then for 1978 I had the opportunity to watch the heyday of slasher movies – Friday 13, Halloween, Nightmare on Elm Street. For 1666… I found that the best inspiration for me lay in the beautiful rotten world of Terence Malick The new World.

With the Fear street The trailer for the trilogy came from our first connection lines for the individual Netflix movies, giving us an idea of ​​what each will actually be apart from the dying teens:

FEAR STREET PART 1: 1994 (July 2)

A circle of teenage friends accidentally meet the former evil responsible for a series of brutal murders that have plagued their city for more than 300 years. Welcome to Shadyside.

FEAR STREET PART 2: 1978 (July 9)

Shadyside, 1978. School is out for the summer and Camp Nightwing activities are about to begin. But when another Shadysider is possessed by the urge to kill, the fun in the sun becomes a gruesome fight for survival.

FEAR STREET PART 3: 1666 (July 16)

The origins of Sarah Fier’s curse are finally revealed as the story comes full circle on a life-changing night for the Shadysiders.


About Author

Comments are closed.